What Does Your Music Say About You and Do You Care?

21 08 2008

An iPod/mp3 survey/meme:

This week, I posted my parody lyrics for the song I Kissed a Girl called I Kissed an Earl at the risk of making people who are humor-challenged think I had kissed a man. While I have no beef with anyone (male or female) who does want to do this, I had no intention of misleading anyone into thinking that I do.

This lead to a series of thoughts about the music we like, the many varied reasons we like the music we do, and the perceptions someone else might have about the songs we choose. I did a quick survey of my mp3 player and wondered what a first time co-worker or acquaintance riding in my car would think of me depending which song on shuffle play came up first. If one were to judge me by the music I’ve put on there, I could be thought of as cool, sappy, tough, stuck in the 80s, a metal head, a nerd, a wussy or an intellectual lover of the classics (you know, like Mozart or Def Leppard). It’s a bit daunting to realize we are all a slave to the shuffle play (unless you don’t use your shuffle) when it comes to that first musical impression. So, it’s fun music survey time. Feel free to use this, and I hope others will play along nicely (or not so nicely depending on what is warranted by a particular question).

If someone new were in your car, what song on your player would you be quickest to skip out of embarrassment: While I think I have more than one song that fits this question, I think I would be quickest to skip past Windy by The Association. It’s a terribly wussified 60s love song that really should only be played if trying to seduce a female hippy (is that hippie?). Why do I have it? The “cool” answer is to say that I have it because, as a young child, I sort of inherited an old 45 record of this song from an older sibling when they moved out of the house and left it behind (probably because they were absolutely over the song). This is partly the truth, but sadly enough, I also SORT OF like the song if I’m in one of those moods. By one of those moods, I mean a running through a breezy field with a beautiful blue sky above mood. Wow, I just read that sentence and realized I must delete that song freaking immediately.

What song or songs is/are most “atypical” on your player? This has to go to Abba’s Take a Chance on Me. (Yes, I know, based on my previous answer, you’re thinking, “That’s not atypical at all for this pansy.” But, I promise, it really is.) I put this on after the brilliant use of it in “The Office” when Andy tried to woo Angela by harmonizing to the song with a friend who was on the phone. Loreena McKennitt’s The Mummer’s Dance is a close second.

What song(s) on your player turns you on? I’m going with I Want You to Want Me by Cheap Trick, probably just because of it seeming like a good “make-out” song from the past. I think Alicia Keys sounds hot on No One as does Shakira on Whenever, Wherever (probably simply because she’s Shakira). Also, since I’m actually more a rock guy than anything else, I’ll say Gasoline by Seether (that’s not really a recommendation if you’re in more of a romantic mood, but I love the sound of the song).

If you wanted to get a member of the opposite sex in the mood, what song would you program to come on when they are in the car? Easy. Ain’t that Loving You? by Lou Rawls. Very smooth (him, not me).

What is the longest song on your player? I think it’s Blackbird by Alter Bridge. I wrote more about it here.

What do you think is the silliest song on your player? Jive Talkin’ by the Bee Gees

What did you most recently add to your player? Several Katy Perry songs

What did you most recently delete? Already covered this: Windy

What is your favorite song on your player that is from a movie? Dream Warriors by Dokken (from A Nightmare on Elm Street 3) but also a couple of the instrumental songs from the miniseries John Adams by Rob Lane and Joseph Vitarelli. The songs are patriotic in nature and in the classical style. If you’re a fan of big, sweeping cinematic music, check it out.

Is there a song on your player that is only there for someone else’s benefit? I have a few for when my wife is in the car (like Jason Mraz). Also, my three year old daughter is a huge fan of a song called Spell by Marie Digby so I’ll have to leave that on there.

What song or artist do you find yourself skipping most frequently and therefore should probably delete? I think I keep skipping Billy Idol lately.

Without cheating, start your player and list the first 10 songs that come up in random play.

Fake It – Seether

The Secret of Life – Faith Hill

Nights in White Satin – Moody Blues

The Interview – AFI

Here We Are – Breaking Benjamin

Take Me Away – Avril Lavigne

Lovin’ Every Minute of It – Loverboy

Wanted Dead or Alive – Bon Jovi

Takin’ Care of Business – Bachman Turner Overdrive

SupaSaturation – Dizzy X

Let’s hear your answers! Don’t be shy. Add a question or two to your survey!

Actions

Information

30 responses

21 08 2008
pachuvachuva

Hi! Nice survey..thanks for this..will prolly post the answers on my blog..thanks again! ^_^

21 08 2008
SerG

complimenti x il blog

21 08 2008
froggylove

You are crazy funny. Loved the post. May try to put it on mine when I have more time. 😉

21 08 2008
What Does Your Music Say About You and Do You Care? « J.S. Epperson

[…] Does Your Music Say About You and Do You Care? This was totally at the top of the heap, so I jumped on it lemming style. To answer the headline, […]

21 08 2008
Stolen From A Stranger « What Was I Thinking?

[…] Stolen From A Stranger I logged in and saw this: What Does Your Music Say About You and Do You Care? […]

21 08 2008
superspychick

I love this post. I can answer a few of ’em…

Songs I would skip out of embarrassment: I have a lot of music that might not have such broad appeal, but the ones I’m really ashamed to love is anything by ABBA and I have quite a few

Biggest turn-on song: Can’t Get Enough of Your Love by Barry White

Silliest songs: I’m Sticking With You by Velvet Underground and At Least I’m Not the Snack-O by Dos Gringos

Most recent additions: Some songs by Rachel Goswell

First Ten Songs on Shuffle: The A-Team Theme
The Thunder Rolls by Garth Brooks
Hold My Hand by Christine Glass
Jade River Sampan from some relaxation CD
Cante e Dance by Pink Martini
Mr. Harris by Russell Crowe and TOFOG
Beer in Mexico by Kenny Chesney
Sheep Dip by Penguin Cafe Orchestra
Letters From War by Mark Schultz
Just Like Heaven by The Cure

21 08 2008
What my music says about me…you might not wanna know « Cheaper than Therapy

[…] my music says about me…you might not wanna know I happened upon a cool blog about music today, and thought it posed some poignant questions…following are his questions and my […]

21 08 2008
vroni1208

I had a lot of fun with this survey/meme. “Makes ya think…”

Here are my answers, if anyone cares: http://vroni1208.wordpress.com/

Thanks! 🙂

21 08 2008
Michael

I listen to a lot of techno and since I’m 36 I always feel like an idiot if other people hear it. I guess it’s nice to know that other people have music they like but are still embarrassed about.

21 08 2008
surveys are such a cop out « limadean

[…] August 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm | In List, Music, nerd alert! | Doing this ipod survey stolen from this gentleman because wordpress has made me a zombie. I added the last two questions before the […]

21 08 2008
maleesha

this is great. i want to steal this “meme” (i hate the word “meme”) but it looks a little bit time consuming. i may ponder this.

21 08 2008
eemilla

I was going to login and update my blog, but wow I am such a dorky sucker for surveys, especially music related ones. I posted my answers! Thanks for the fun!

21 08 2008
Dorky Fun Music Survey « Food, Fun, Travel, and Love

[…] by eemilla on August 22, 2008 Thanks to Licensed to Blog for this great little music survey.  My answers are […]

22 08 2008
bloggy

What Does Your Music Say About You?

That’s easy, I don’t listen to music anymore.

Although there was a time when I listened to everything from Amy Grant to Poison, I’m strictly a podcast person now.

However, there is this one podcast I regularly listen to that plays this opening song, Left For Dead, by a band called Tribe of Judah. If one were to be in my car at the time this came on they would think, “Man, he’s really into rock.” Then they would be sorely disappointed when the podcast actually started.

I know, I’m boring, but I like me.

22 08 2008
Taoist Biker

Dude, I am all over this. It makes me wish I really did HAVE a bigger player instead of just these mp3 discs that I use to answer these questions.

Let me ruminate on this for a while and I’ll do it later today, and add questions if I can think of good ones!

22 08 2008
More music! More music! « The Taoist Biker

[…] read this music meme from Matt (alliteration:  I has it) this morning and immediately loved it.  As I noted in the Shuffle Up […]

22 08 2008
Time To Face The Music « Hair of the Blog

[…] individuals listen to, what it says about each of us, and if we should even care (you can read it here). I would be put into the ‘Don’t Care’ category, but also in the sub-category of […]

22 08 2008
nathaliewithanh

Er, well, how do I say this without sounding like a retard? I don’t think there is a way. Here it goes: I don’t have a player. Are you happy now? See what you have done!

23 08 2008
Stacey

While I don’t have an ipod, I do have an mp3 player so I don’t have to listen to Enya at the gym. My first ten songs on random play are:

1. Losing My Religion (REM)
2. I Alone (Live)
3. Don’t Stop Believing (Journey)
4. Radioactive (The Firm)
5. Bring Me to Life (Evanescence)
6. Girl Like That (Matchbox Twenty)
7. End of the World (REM)
8. Keep on Loving You (REO Speedwagon)
9. Crocodile Rock (Elton John)
10. Eleanor Rigby (The Beatles)

24 08 2008
Matt

Love seeing everyone’s answers. Stacey: Yours and mine seem closest. I have almost every song you listed on mine. E. Rigby is my favorite Beatles song.
Nath: Don’t worry, I didn’t have one until fairly recently, and I LOVE music.

26 08 2008
Billy

This is a great survey. I saw this on the front of the WordPress page so congrats to that! Both you and Allison really hit home runs as far as that goes. Let’s see. Now don’t judge me too harshly for this. 😉

1) David Bowie’s “Dance Magic” from the movie The Labyrinth.
2) Amazing Grace from the Blackwatch Pipe and Drum corp.
3) Anything from Emerson Lake and Palmer. Made out for the first time to the greatest hits cassette, side a and b.
4) Otis Redding “This Heart Of Mine”
5) Longest would probably be “Pigs On A Wing” the full version from Pink Floyd.
6) The theme song to Reading Rainbow
7) “Psychosocial” by Slipknot
8) “Rock and Roll” Led Zeppelin. I know that is sac-religious but I’m burnt out on the song.
9) Now this is weird. My favorite right now is from Nightmare on Elm St. too. The Goo Goo Dolls, “I’m Awake”. That’s strange.
10) not really. I moved so I have been a solo driver for a while.
11) I keep skipping the Metallica Black Album. Enter Sandman and such.

Maxwell’s Silver Hammer- The Beatles
Tangerine- Led Zeppelin
Fear Of The Dark- Iron Maiden
Got The Life- Korn
Making Plans For Nigel- XTC
Birth, School, Work, Death- The Godfathers
On Fire- Bruce Springsteen
Let There Be Rock- AC/DC
Not Your Fool- Def Leppard
Joey- Concrete Blonde

26 08 2008
Avril Lavigne

That would be sweet to go see Avril Lavigne in concert in Beijing China. Her tour date says it’s October 6th. After watching the olympics, I really want to visit Beijing now.

26 08 2008
No, Um, I Don’t Like Jessica Simpson « That’s What She Blogged

[…] 26, 2008 by Allison When Matt’s music meme makes it as the ‘hawt post’, I know I need to exploit borrow […]

28 08 2008
Nevis

Who doesn’t love Dokken? The world would be a better place if we were all still rockin’ with Dokken.

28 08 2008
Nevis

Btw, I actually got this meme from your wife, but I took it and went with it. 😀 I…bloglifted it. Great idea!

28 08 2008
Robin

Great meme! I’ve reposted it on my blog, Cinnamon and Honey, and gave you some linky-love!
🙂 Robin
http://cinnamonandhoney.blogpsot.com

29 08 2008
Matt

Thanks everyone who has used it. Robin, I enjoyed your blog but had difficulty when trying to post a comment there…so here it is! Sorry!

3 09 2008
Only 15 year old girls like him, right? « Sarah in the Suburbs

[…] again) and I have stolen this meme and edited it to best suit my needs.  The original is over at Licensed to Blog and the original with some additional questions is located over at Toaist Biker.  If you […]

13 04 2013
Marina Schulz Tork

Ahhhhh great moody blues song!! Love nights in white satin!

2 05 2013
http://about.me/seo.thailand

After you have their awareness, it is not complicated
to get them intrigued in your product. This
is the common process for exploring the lookup engine
rating of world wide web web-sites for the
searched term. There are several products in the checklist.

Leave a Reply

