Ties Suck (Not the Kind You Wear…Well, Those Do Too)

8 01 2008

I really enjoy working with kids sometimes. Today, after a session of chess with a young teen, we were discussing the strategy involved and how it exercises the brain. We talked about how some professional chess players have matches that last a very long time. The kid said, “I think they can last a week!” After I agreed, we talked about the matches sometimes ending in a “tie.” At this point, the kid said, “That would suck. Playing chess for a week and ending in a tie is like working out for a week and finding out you’re getting fatter instead of stronger.” I whole-heartedly agreed. Man, they keep you young.

Actions

Information

11 responses

8 01 2008
Paperspoons

Hmmm, I think of a tie as not losing. It’s like you both win.

9 01 2008
Eileen Dover

Eh, I think of a tie as a bad movie, like The SpongeBob Squarepants Movie, where you walked away thinking, that’s two hours and twenty bucks of my life I’ll never see again.

Yes, oh ye of pessimistic faith.

9 01 2008
indianamatt

Paperspoons: Not many in my family would agree. We had an extra doubles tennis match in the cold because we were tied for the year, and none of us wanted that!

Eileen: Sounds as bad as Dr. T. and the Women…awful.

9 01 2008
Alyson

Great observation.

Going to see the Spongebob Movie, ugh, I’ll just say that was the most I’ve ever paid to take a nap.

9 01 2008
indianamatt

Alyson…hey a good nap can hard to come by. People spend big bucks on sleep aids, you know!

9 01 2008
Em

I’m far too competitive to accept a tie. I’m also far too antsy to play chess.

9 01 2008
romi41

I was on the exercise bike earlier this evening, and if doing so made me fatter, I’m gonna be SOOOO MAD…..

Grrr….

10 01 2008
Bunk

Kinda like making up the bed in the morning knowing that it’ll just get messed up again later tonight. Animals already know this… that’s why they sleep in nests.

10 01 2008
Allison

I like your “kids say the darndest things” moments. You can’t make that stuff up!

15 01 2008
indianamatt

Em: Maybe we should play tennis, then.

Romi: I’m totally addicted to a new combo exercise bike/elliptical thing at the gym…even if it makes me fatter.

Bunk: Animals rule.

My Better Half: Why thank you! It’s nice to know that you don’t think I make EVERYTHING up. 🙂

29 04 2008
Sanjay

Ties Suck not the Kind You Wear Well Those Do Too he is very very handsome all the best.

Leave a Reply

